Georgia State Flag

Georgia State Flag {2001 - 2003}
Georgia State Flag
On a blue field the Georgia flag showcases the state seal, a ribbon expresses Georgia's flag history and the words "In God We Trust". Thirteen stars surrounding the seal denotes Georgia's position as one of the original thirteen colonies. On the seal three pillars supporting an arch represent the three branches of government; legislative, judicial and executive. A man with sword drawn is defending the Constitution, whose principles are wisdom, justice and moderation. The date 1776 represents the signing of the Declaration of Independence. A ribbon displays the thirteen star U.S. flag (1777-1795), Georgia's first flag (1879), Georgia's 1920-1956 flag, Georgia's 1956 flag and the 50 star U.S. flag. Adopted January 30, 2001

Georgia State Flag {1956 - 2001}
Georgia State Flag
Having two fields, one of deep blue and the other dark red, the Georgia flag showcases the Battle Flag of the Confederacy and the state seal. On the state seal is the year 1776, the date of the Declaration of Independence. The three pillars stand for the three branches of government Legislative, Executive and the Courts. The arch above the pillars stands for the constitution. A ribbon expresses the ideals of the constitution "wisdom", "justice" and "moderation".

Detail Georgia State Flag

Detail: Georgia

Tell us how we're doing...

Help make better: