Alaska State Flag

Alaska State Flag
Alaska State Flag

Officially Adopted: May 2, 1927

Alaska adopted the flag for official state use in 1959. The blue field represents the sky, the sea, and mountain lakes, as well as Alaska’s wildflowers. Emblazoned on the flag are eight gold stars: seven from the constellation Ursa Major, or the Big Dipper. The eighth being the North Star, representing the northernmost state. 

History of the Alaska Flag

Alaska flag and American flag
Flying of the flag of Alaska and the American flag

In 1926, Alaska Department of the American Legion sponsored a for Alaskan children to help design a flag for the territory. The winning design was created  by a 13-year-old Native American boy, Bennie Benson, from the village of Chignik. Bennie received a 1,000-dollar scholarship and a watch for his winning entry in the flag design contest.

Alaskan Flag Symbolism

  • Blue- For the sky, the sea and the official state flower the Forget-me-not
  • North Star (Polaris) – For the future of Alaska
  • Dipper (Great Bear) – For strength