Arkansas State Flag

Arkansas Flag

Officially Adopted: February 26, 1913 

The state flag of Arkansas was officially adopted in 1913. The flag’s design depicts a diamond on a red field. It represents the only place in North America where diamonds have been discovered and mined.

The twenty-five white stars around the diamond represent that Arkansas was the twenty-fifth state to join the Union. The top four stars in the center represent that Arkansas was a member of the Confederate States during the Civil War. 

The other three stars represent Spain, France, and the United States, countries that had earlier ruled the land that included Arkansas.

 Arkansas Pledge to the Flag

State Capitol Building front exterior in Little Rock Arkansas

“I Salute the Arkansas Flag With Its Diamond and Stars. We Pledge Our Loyalty to Thee.” 

Arkansas State Flag Symbols

  • 25 stars — 25th State
  • 4 stars in the center — Represents a member of the Confederate States
  • 3 stars – Represents Spain, France, and the US 
  • Diamond shape – Diamond mining in Arkansas