New Mexico State Flag

New Mexico Flag

New Mexico State Flag


Flag Officially Adopted: September 18, 1920 

The state flag of New Mexico is represented by a yellow field and red symbols. It was officially adopted in 1925 and pays recognition to Spain by using the red and yellow colors of Spain – Spain had ruled New Mexico until the early 19th century.

The flag was designed by Reba Mera, a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The State Flag of New Mexico has a modern interpretation of an ancient symbol of a sun design as seen on a late 19th century water jar from Zia Pueblo. 

On New Mexico’s flag we see a red sun with rays stretching out from it. There are four groups of rays with four rays in each group. This is an ancient sun symbol of a Native American people called the Zia. The Zia believed that the giver of all good gave them gifts in groups of four. These gifts are:

  • The four directions – north, east, south and west
  • The four seasons – spring, summer, fall and winter
  • The day – sunrise, noon, evening and night
  • Life itself – childhood, youth, middle years and old age

All of these are bound by a circle of life and love, without a beginning or end.

Fun Fact!  The New Mexico flag is one of only 4 US state flags not to contain the color blue.

New Mexico State Flag Pledge

New Mexico State Flag Flying
New Mexico State Flag Flying

“I salute the flag of the State of New Mexico and the Zia symbol of perfect friendship among united cultures.”