Texas State Flag

Texas Flag
Texas Flag


Officially Adopted: January 25, 1839

The Texas state flag which is the official US state flag of Texas was officially adopted on January 25, 1839. It features a single white star, and three bands of red, white, and blue. The state’s nickname, the Lone Star state came from the iconic symbol on the flag. The blue stands for loyalty, white for purity, and red for bravery. The single star stands for all of Texas that represents unity for God, state, and country. The Lone Star symbol was also an older symbol that represented independence from Mexico.


The Texas flag wasn’t always depicted as the current Lone Star flag. Texas has flown six nations’ flags over the years based on who controlled Texas. 


Spain (1519 – 1685 and 1690 – 1821)

France (1685 – 1690)

Mexico (1821 – 1836)

Republic of Texas (1836 – 1845)

Confederate States of America (1861- 1865)

United State of America (1845 – 1861 and 1865 – present)

Texas State Flag Pledge

Many states have an official pledge to their state flag. Texas has an official pledge although many Texans may not know their state flag pledge. The pledge is, “Honor the Texas flag; I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible.”