State Quarters

The 50 States quarters program, launched by the US Mint in 1999, was setup to encourage interest and curiosity to a new generation of coin collectors. The United States Mint started the commemorative 50 State Quarters program in 1999 and continued through 2008.  Each state has a state quarter associated with each one of the 50 states.  Five coins were released per year in the order of when the states were admitted to the Union. Each coin was only produced for a mere 10 weeks and never were reproduced again.

Click on a state quarter below to get more detail about when the state quarter was released, important markings on each coin, how many were made, the history behind the design of each 50 state quarter and more interesting information.

More information is available from the official United
States Mint Website