Oklahoma State Seal

State Seal of Oklahoma

oklahoma state seal

The Seal of Oklahoma is one of the US State seals with a very high level of symbolism. It features a star with its five corners representing the ”five civilized tribes” which were the Native American tribes and featuring their own seals. The 5 tribes were the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole

The original territorial seal of Oklahoma is featured at the center of the star. The 45 stars surrounding the pentagram represent the 45 US States that existed at that time. The seal was adopted in 1905 by the State of Oklahoma.